Jubilee takes majority seats in Senate

Senators allied to the ruling Jubilee Party used their numerical advantage to ensure all House Committees are chaired by their members except the Public Accounts and Investments Committee whose leadership is reserved for the minority party. Jubilee will head 31 out of 32 house committees with some Senators landing two top slots. NASA Senators gave majority of the committee elections a wide berth accusing their Jubilee counterparts of rubberstamping a selection made by the executive. Meru Senator Mithika Linturi who was on Wednesday elected Vice Chair of the Public Accounts and Investment Committee is also the Vice-Chair of the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee. He will deputize Nandi Senator Samson Cherargey. Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja will chair the Senate’s Labour Committee and deputize Garissa Senator Yusuf Hajji in the National Security and Defense committee. Laikipia Senator John Kinyua will chair the committee on devolved governments and will be deputized by Tana River Senator Wario Juma. The leadership of the Finance and Budget committee went to Mandera Senator Mohammed Maalim who will be deputized by nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura. With heading all but one committee, the opposition is pessimistic on the Senate’s oversight role on the executive.